I’m unsure if you all have heard of it, and I’m probably a little late with this one but I watched Priceless this weekend.  It’s about a man named James who is absolutely down on his luck. He lost his wife and shortly thereafter lost custody of his daughter. Desperately in need of money and in hopes of regaining custody of his daughter, James (Joel Smallbone) embarks on a cross-country delivery for cash — no questions asked.

When he discovers that he is delivering two young women, the questions in his mind begin haunting him mercilessly. When James finds himself falling for one of the women, he becomes an unlikely hero and must fight to save the innocence and lives of both of the ladies. 

Priceless.jpg

 

This movie is a tearjerker. It forces the audience to take a peak into the the realness of what women and little girls experience when they are dragged from the privacy of their homes, taken into captivity against their will. It also forced me to realize that we are all a part of the problem. You may not be an active participant in helping these sick individuals, but standing passively, never intervening or turning a blind eye is one of the reasons this continues to happen.

I don’t know about you but that is not how I want to be remembered. I don’t want to be remembered as the complacent generation who carried on, business as usual. Why is it so easy for us to turn a blind eye to individuals who need us? I know we all have our own struggles in life and its so much easier to tuck your tail and hide. But how does that feel? Are you proud of that? And is your situation worse than what these people experience daily?

This movie inspired me to look into ways that I can help in my own community and I encourage the same to all of you. No, I will not be able to prevent this from happening on my own but it wouldn’t hurt to start somewhere. I encourage all of you to watch this movie when you have a little free time and bring some Kleenex. Sadly, this is something that will continue to happen until we all decide to do something about it. No one should be forced to succumb to this. Remember, “She’s worth it.”

A man who stands for nothing will fall for anything.–Malcom X

Be blessed.

Ashley Cole

Photo credit to IMDB Photo Link

Free the Captives Free the Captives is a faith-based nonprofit fighting teenage human trafficking in Houston. The average age of girls being trafficked is between the ages of 12 to 14 years old. We engage and mobilize the Christian community while partnering with non-profits, law enforcement, and government agencies in the fight against modern day slavery. Our goal is to combat teenage sex trafficking through engaging and equipping our volunteers. Get involved today!

8 thoughts on “Priceless…

  1. I’d like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in writing this website. I am hoping to see the same high-grade content from you later on as well. In truth, your creative writing abilities has motivated me to get my very own blog now 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This means so much to me. I plan to continue, but its good knowing people understand the direction I’m going in. Otherwise it’s pointless. 🙂 Thank you again and the best of luck with your blog in the future!
    Ash

    Like

Leave a Reply

