I have not failed, I have just found 10,000 ways that won’t work.

Thomas Edison

This quote resonates with me today. I am a writer and poet although the poet police may say the title “Poet” should be given to me. I agree and disagree. If you are a passionate writer who writes poetry, why can’t you give yourself the title? On the other hand, being given the title by others who have studied your work, is definitely more rewarding.

I have been searching to no avail for a trustworthy publishing companies to consider my manuscript. A few have made offers and I am unsure of which direction to turn. Being that this would be my first book, I would like to put my best foot forward but I also realize there may be several things I should pay attention to on my search for a publisher. I have researched several publishing companies but am unsure of which options would work best. Furthermore, a few of the packages are outrageous in what they ask for and I would like to keep as many rights to my book as possible.

I’m caught in-between self-publishing and allowing a publishing company to publish for me. I would like to keep majority of my rights, as well as profit, but my true passion and dream is for my poems to reach readers of all nationalities, ages etc. Am I asking for too much? I haven’t failed but I have definitely found 10,000 things I will not agree to when publishing.

I have published a few poems within poetry magazines/books for different companies but this would be the first book I’ve written. If you’ve published poems, or know someone who has, please point me in the right direction. I’d greatly appreciate it. Have a blessed day!

 

 

12 thoughts on “I Have Not Failed…

Leave a Reply

