Maybe you’ll use your voice after America begins to suffer after realizing those minorities were what made America great. When will Americans wake up and realize the hate that spews from the soul of this lost man. Do you really believe he could care less about your beliefs?

It is time that we use our voices and come together for what’s right. I did not serve 8 years in the United States Air Force to come back and be treated like nothing. I served those eight years for a country that I love and a country that I thought loved me in return. Boy was I fooled.

Of course I knew racism existed and I have experienced it daily, but I am wise enough to know that I cannot mistreat or label a whole race do to the poor judgement of a few. Where is your Humanity?

We’ve allowed people from all over the world to come into our country and they bring beautiful things along with them. It’s a shame that we have lost sight of that due to a few individuals making poor decisions. Now that a third of us has decided those talents are no longer needed we are to treat them as scum and throw them away like week old garbage.

This sickens me on so many levels. Maybe you will wake up when it is your family that is being thrown into the streets and being beaten brutally. Or uprooted from a place their family felt was safer than the country they fled from.

Is it a crime to want what’s best for your family? Isnt that what we all want? Do we really want to live in a country that is full of hate? Correct me if I’m wrong but hate does not make America great the people do. And the fact that we all bring something different to the table is what makes us beautiful.

For those of you who are ready to take a stand, use your voice. Do not be silent. This is not the time to run into dark corners and hide. This is the time to stand up for what is right. This is the time when your beliefs should overpower your fears.

A true American has a heart. A true American has humanity and a true American helps his neighbor, even if his neighbor doesn’t share the same skin color. Peace be with you America. And for the sake of all of us…please wake up.

Ashley Cole

Leave a Reply

